abbsquake, the blog

Bad Luck Blazer

Image

I bought a wool suit jacket before we moved to Maine last year, for job interviews. In Chicago, several years before I went through all of my interviews without a jacket & apparently had no trouble securing employment, dressed simply in a button down shirt and black pants. But the first position I applied for in Maine was a couple steps above my current level, so I felt I needed to kick it up a notch. I bought a charcoal blazer from J.Crew and proceeded to interview in it… I did not get that job. I was also rejected for another position for which I felt the interview went exceptionally well and for which I was very well qualified, even if the pay was several steps below what I was seeking.

Since then, I have received only rejections (5 in all) after interviewing in this jacket. The only affirmative responses I have received over the last 12 months followed 1) an interview to which I wore a purple sweater & black pants, and 2) a would-be offer, had I not moved prior, after a follow up interview* wearing the same black pants & a pink button down shirt.

*Long story short: Was rejected for the original position sought (interviewed in offending jacket). Was then contacted for a lower level position for which I interviewed without the jacket & far later received an offer.

So…what do you think? Is it that I don’t need a jacket at all for interviewing? I have to say, I do hate wearing them, especially with a button down shirt underneath – it feels awkward, like the layers of collar are fighting with each other for crisp edges & nobody is winning. Or is this particular one just cursed? Is it that it’s charcoal & not black (i.e. not “serious” enough)? I’d love to hear any suggestions or professional fashion advice…

This entry was published on January 2, 2012 at 12:15 PM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Bad Luck Blazer

  1. I’d ditch the jacket, at this point it sounds like a curse:) Stick with what has worked for you in the past.

Leave a Reply

