abbsquake, the blog

I.O.U.

Ooops, I owe you a post from yesterday. Here it is! Monday turned out to be rather busy, but good. We learned some important stuff, I applied for some jobs, we hung out with my brother, learned a new card game, saw a movie, and….drum roll please….we made what we call Uncle Dan’s chili…which we always eat too fast to photograph…it’s smoky & hearty & delicious. We served it for dinner with my brother prior to going to see the “new” Muppet Movie. [By the way, it was pretty good. I went in with very high expectations based on what friends had been saying about it, so I was not blown away or magically transported back to my childhood per se.]

Anyway, this chili recipe is adapted from a One Dish Wonders, modified to be relatively vegan (real vegans would potentially object to my suggestion of honey for the cornbread on the side) & include some additional personal touches:

Ingredients:

1 c chopped onion

1 chopped green bell pepper

1 chopped red bell pepper

1 1.25 oz pkg of taco seasoning mix

1 15 oz. can fire roasted tomatoes, drained

1 15 oz. can no-salt-added tomato sauce

1 15 oz prepared small red beans (equivalent to a can, I always prepare mine from dry)

1 19 oz prepared great northern (or cannellini) beans

2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, chopped, plus 2 tsp of the adobo sauce

Cook onions & peppers in a non-stick skillet over med-high heat until tender. Add seasoning & next 5 ingredients & bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low & simmer 5 minutes. Serve with fresh avocado, and (gluten free) corn bread w/ honey.

Cilantro is another suggested garnish, if you are so persuaded…

This entry was published on January 17, 2012 at 11:01 AM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “I.O.U.

  1. Yum! I’m going to give this a try. Veggie chili is one of my favorite things. How big are the cans for the tomatoes and tom. sauce? The big daddy 28-ozers? 15 oz?

    I’m not vegan, so you can bet that I’ll put some shredded cheese on top. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

