abbsquake, the blog

Coffee, My Fickle Friend

Coffee and I have had an on-again, off-again relationship for many years. I love coffee so much. Possibly too much, because every now and then coffee does me wrong. It keeps me up nights (even when I only drink it in the morning), heart racing, moods swinging, retorts snapping, stress overtaking my life & I have to send coffee away for awhile. It’s hard. Boo-hoo. Luckily coffee goes quietly & doesn’t leave me with the insult of pounding headaches or anything like that. But it does leave the temporary caffeine-free blues – I feel worse for awhile. Its absence makes it hard to get going on anything, and makes running a total test of will instead of a jet-fueled dash through the cold January air. I miss the hot bitter jolt first thing in the morning, the way it tempers the mild sweetness of breakfast, the burst of optimism, motivation & energy it provides.

I know coffee and I will be friends again at some shining future moment. But for now, I just have to let coffee go off into the sunrise…hasta luego, amigo.

For entertaining further reading on coffee & throughout history, see this recent NPR article.

This entry was published on January 17, 2012 at 11:26 AM. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Coffee, My Fickle Friend

  1. Sad! Coffee is my beloved bestie — nothing like a hot mug of coffee in the morning as I get ready for the day. I absolutely CANNOT drink it after 1 pm, though, or I don’t sleep well.

    • I hear ya – it is sad, as I, too, love it as a part of my morning routine. I’ve replaced it with herbal teas for the time being, but it’s not the same. I may have to splurge on some pointless, expensive brown water (i.e. buy some natural decaf) to get me through until stress readings return to coffee-safe levels. 🙂

Leave a Reply

